About pregabalin and gabapentin…

Not hardly…
http://1boringoldman.com/index.php/2014/12/25/not-hardly/

Spence Des. Bad medicine: gabapentin and pregabalin- BMJ 2013; 347:f6747.

Gabapentin for pain: New evidence from hidden data

THERAPEUTICS LETTER ISSUE 75 / JUL – DEC 2009

Unpublished ClinicalTrials.gov pregabalin studies = 58% (76 out of 131 study records). figshare.

  4 comments for “About pregabalin and gabapentin…

  1. March 31, 2015 at 2:01 pm

    Interesting. I wish I had more time, today, to read more. One of the links you provided has a letter describing Lyrica as a “clone” of pregabalin. That statement is not quite right. I do agree that advertising medications on TV is irresponsible, at the least, however the magazine articles (in USA) do include the packaging inserts. Which of course does not make the consumer qualified to know anything … and often merely confuses everyone.

    I’ve had discussions with (now retired) a neurologist, who also had Ph.D. in pharmacology, two neurosurgeons ( one from Brazil), and an orthopedic surgeon,also a couple of general practice M.D.s, insurance companies (aaargh!!) and the pharmacists behind the counter … specifically about pregabalin and Lyrica. I got so irritated with the ignorance of my local pharmacies and doctors (some years ago) that I asked my M.D. neurologist PhD. pharmacologist to provide an inservice on pregabalin :-) a short time later the local docs began using his terminology, and slightly improved guidelines. Hooray!

    I have multiple complicated health issues, including multiple sclerosis — and other — stuff —

    • April 4, 2015 at 3:34 am

      Thanks again for your comment.
      – Could you please tell me the link that contains the innacurate information?
      – About guidelines, please take a look to this information: http://chaoticpharmacology.com/2014/11/18/margaret-mccartney-have-we-given-guidelines-too-much-power-bmj-2014/
      – I am sorry about your health issues, please contact me if there is anything I can do.
      http://chaoticpharmacology.com/contact/

      • April 4, 2015 at 4:24 am

        “…After being fined $2.3B for off-brand promotion with their non-product Neurontin®, Pfizer brought out Lyrica®, a molecular clone, ran it for its patent life, and now want to extend the exclusivity for a secondary patent for the same use they got fined for in the first place. And the way they propose to do that is threaten GPs and Pharmacists…”
        http://1boringoldman.com/index.php/2014/12/25/not-hardly/

        Not so much can be done, I do not think. You are very kind to offer sympathy. My health issues are a teaching tool. Without, I would be even more ignorant than I am…. which is pretty bad. Too often I find I don’t know what I am talking about.

        In this case the problem is the same problem my local health care providers had. These two meds do not work by the same mechanism. Most likely you understand it much better than I, if you also understand how pain works … my vocabulary only includes layman’s terms.

        Sorry, but this essay sounds more like a rant than fact based comments.

        I don’t know if the quoted money figures are correct or not. Except that lots of gimmicks are used to get new patents. For example Colchicine … used for over 2,000 years, now can only be found with an extra ingredient and has a new patent. A patent on something used for 2,000 years!! Rx for my husband to help with Peri-carditis, not gout … nurses, pharmacists argued about only being for gout, as well … there is just too much for most people to know and keep up with.

        Thank you for all that you have done.

      • April 4, 2015 at 5:24 am

        pain is too inclusive a word … there are so many different types, mechanisms, perception processes …

Leave a Reply

